Assessment at Heckington St. Andrew's


At Heckington St. Andrew's we use a range of assessment strategies to assess the children's learning across each year group.  We assess mathematics, reading, writing and spelling, grammar and punctuation.


We use the standardised NFER assessments three times a year (September, February and June) in maths, reading and spelling, grammar and punctuation which enable us to:

  • benchmark our results nationally; this tells us how well our children are doing compared to other children across the country;
  • reliably monitor attainment and progress;
  • make accurate comparisons between pupils and groups of pupils;
  • gain formative information to guide teaching and learning.


Learning Journeys

Each year group in KS2 has a learning journey for maths and English containing the skills which we expect children to have mastered at the end of the year.    The learning journeys are used for ongoing assessment and target setting and enable children to have more ownership of their learning as they are completed alongside the children so that they know what they have achieved and what they still need to work on.

At the end of the year, the learning journeys are used to help the class teacher make an assessment on whether a child is working at age related expectations, below age related expectations or whether they are working at greater depth.  Alongside the NFER assessments, it provides us with a really good picture of how well our children are doing both in terms of attainment and progress and what their next steps are.

Please click on the links below to view the learning journeys for each year group:

Year 3 and 4 English Learning Journey

Year 3 and 4 Maths Learning Journey

Year 5 and 6 English Learning Journey

Year 5 and 6 Maths Learning Journey



Writing is assessed throughout the year using the learning journeys and the writing that children produce in their English lessons as well as cross curricular writing.  We therefore use a range of writing and genres to assess whether children are working at age related expectations.



In our Reception Class, we use ongoing assessment to assess where the children are against the Early Learning Goals. 

Each area of the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum has an Early Learning Goal, which is the standard that a child is expected to achieve by the end of their reception year in order to meet the standards for their age. The Early Learning Goals cover the 7 key areas of learning for Early Years students, which are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design